Michigan EIBC Annual Member Meeting Attended by Clean Energy Business Owners and Key Decision Makers

Patti Poppe of Consumers Energy and MI Public Service Commission Chair Sally Talberg

EAST LANSING— More than 100 clean energy business owners, elected officials and key decision makers today gathered for theMichigan Energy Innovation Business Council’s 4th Annual Members Meeting at the Kellogg Center in East Lansing. Participants discussed industry trends and innovations in advanced energy and were briefed on policy developments as the legislature debates Michigan’s energy future.

“Michigan’s advanced energy industry continues to thrive and we’re well positioned to help the state meet its future energy needs as we embrace cutting-edge technologies,” said Liesl Clark, president of the Michigan Energy Innovation Business Council. “With renewable energy costs at record lows, energy efficiency driving billions of dollars in savings and an advanced transportation sector that is embracing new technology, consumer demand for advanced energy technologies is at an all-time high.”

The meeting featured an opening dialogue by two Michigan energy leaders: Patti Poppe, who will take over as president and chief executive officer for Consumers Energy on July 1, and Michigan Public Service Commission Chair Sally Talberg.

“Advanced energy is attracting investment and creating good-paying jobs right here in Michigan,” said Lauren Bigelow, CEO of Growth Capital Network and Chair of the Michigan EIBC Board. “From creating the grid of the future to innovations in the transportation sector, advanced energy businesses are driving change, and our industry is well-positioned and ready to play an increasingly important role.”

More than 87,000 work in Michigan’s clean energy industry, according to a recent analysis by Clean Energy Trust. The report ranks Michigan alongside 11 other states. Michigan leads the Midwest region in clean energy vehicle jobs and is second in renewable energy jobs.

Michigan EIBC also elected members of its Board of Directors. The following individuals were reappointed:

  • Lauren Bigelow, CEO, Growth Capital Network
  • Anand Gangadharan, President and CEO, NOVI Energy
  • Bruce Goodman, Counsel, Varnum LLP
  • Rachel Tronstein, President, Gardner-White Furniture
  • Rich VanderVeen, President, Mackinaw Power
  • Scott Viciana, Vice President – Business Development, Ventower Industries

In addition, the following individuals were added to the Michigan EIBC Board:

  • Mathias Bell, Manager – Market Development and Regulatory Affairs, Opower
  • Mark Hagerty, President and Founder, Michigan Solar Solutions
  • Kevin Hyken, President and COO, Navitas Advanced Systems Group
  • Tim Mahler, Vice President – Operations, CLEAResult
  • Kevin Parzyck, Vice President, Development – Central Region, Invenergy